Medical School w/a Family

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smc927

El Flaquito
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am still an undergraduate student at Penn State. I have a lovely wife and a wonderful baby girl. In addition to school I work (to pay the bills!).
It doesn't seem reasonable to go through medical school and work.
Am I insane to think I can afford to attend medical school with a family? Will student loans and grants cover basic living expenses for me & my little family?
The work of a mother is my wife's priority, and I would rather she didn't leave home to get a job.
Any experiences, help or suggestions? :confused: Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.