Medical scribe will it hurt me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cutie360

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to help me out a lil backround on myself...

************ BACKGROUND INFO*******************
* Overall undergraduate GPA 3.1

*I haven't taken any science classes yet planning to start Jan 2010. SO I have yet to establish a science gpa!

Now did i mention that I have ZERO CLINICAL EXPERIENCE NADA NOTHING I've never volunteered in a clinical setting, I don't have any exposure to medicine at all other than my own personal experience from doctor visits.

Im starting my post bacc program in January so im currently unemployed I found A GREAT JOB. AN ER SCRIBE which means I'll get to follow doctors all day and record things such as patient history, lab exams, and basically take notes during the entire medical visit.I get Learn the responsibilities of being a physician, get exposure to all field of medicine. But there is a negative or at least thats what I'm being told. It's a one year 40 hour a week commitment which means there is no way I can take full time classes. I would probably end up taking one class two at most for the winter of 2010 semester which I dont mind doing. But having my 3.0 undergrad GPA means I need to ACE my sciences and have a very high Science gpa. My friends are telling me that even if I got two A's medical schools wont be impressed because I only took two classes and anyone can get two A's and regardless of how high my science gpa is it won't impress them because I didnt go "full time".

***************** QUESTION**************