Medical specialties on the rise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chiriyan

Reaction score
"A good hockey player plays where the puck is. A great hockey player plays where the puck is going to be." - Wayne Gretzky

Hello all, I am a first year medical student and am curious as to what medical specialties have the brightest future. I understand almost every field has ongoing innovation and improvement, but 20-30 years from now which medical specialties are going to be the hottest, most in-demand, technological, most fulfilling, best compensated, etc. In essence which ones are the most "on the rise"?

I don't have too much experience but I think the follow have the brightest futures (in no specific order):

1) Urology - interesting and growing field, already seeing the most applications of robotic surgery, sexual/transgender medicine will be huge, have a highly competitive residency already
2) Plastic Surgery - more people caring about aesthetics, facial transplantation, plastic surgeons are increasingly involved with other surgical cases, competitive residency
3) Preventive Medicine - population health, controlling costs, improving the system - overall very impactful
4) Family Medicine - U.S. is facing a re-emphasis on primary care
5) IR - minimally-invasive procedures are preferred, better imaging being developed, competitive residency

I think the unifying concept is that I can see a vastly increased demand for all of these. Am I wrong? Is there any other notable inclusion and why?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Did you really just start a post with a quote?

Reactions: 49 users
There's really no way to predict this.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
1. OP's first post? check.
2. whacky writing style? check.
3. ridiculous, generic, overplayed question? ...check.