Medical Technologist Wanting to apply for medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MT2MD

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I apologize if I posted in the wrong forum. I am a nontraditional student but I want to know how I am doing

I am 23 years old. Just graduated and just started working as a medical technologist. However, I am thinking of applying for medical school next cycle.

I didn't take the MCAT yet but I planning to take it in June so I have around 6 months to study. Is that too late??? I could always take another year off I guess???

Here is my stat/ec
GPA: 3.88 SUNY

Clinical Experience
- Working as a medical technologist at microbiology lab right now
- Volunteering at the ICU right now (going to have 100 hrs in March)
- About 6 months doing internship with various hospital lab (micro, hematology, chemistry, blood bank and coagulation lab)
- 4 years of volunteering at the Blood Bank 05-09
-2 of these years were as AmeriCorps Team Leader
- Coordinate blood drives between the hospital and school
- talk to donors
- Pathology Department Volunteer (135 hrs) (this was volunteering but I sometimes get to watch pathologist examine specimen)

Shadowing Experience

- Anesthesiology Department (this experience was awesome, I follow a different anesthesiologists every day for a months. I saw all different types of surgeries and spent sometime with the pain management staff)

Research
- 1 semester doing clinical research for the ER (it's just asking patient to do survey)
- 1 semester: Did a research paper with 3 other students on mixing coagulation tube (it was required for my major)
- 2 months researching for the NIH funded project about complications with anesthesiology (I will be honest, I just read medical records for data collection, I did get to attend some awesome medical meetings though)

Extra
TA General Chemistry Sept 06-May07
TA Microbiology Jan-May09