Medicinal Chemistry or Pharmacy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChemistWiz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello, I'm a student about to enter college and I know that I really enjoy Chemistry. However, I don't know exactly what to do when i get to college, this summer im sending out applications to some Big ten schools. Mainly because they're close and have PharmD/PHD programs.

My questions are: if I want to make pills should i just do medicinal chemistry? Can I get a job making pills with a PharmD? How often do people stay in research? Should my PHD be in medicnal chemistry, Pharmacology, or Pharmaceutical sciences? How much Chemistry is in a pharmacists work? how much does a medicinal Chemist earn a year?

I really love chemistry, But i also really want to have a stable job, and though i think research would be amazing i have no official standing on it since i haven't done anything outside of AP chem and AP Bio. I have, however, interned at a pharmacy and the pharmacist seemed pleased with her job, she was kind and really liked what she was doing, but it was 8 hours of her on her feet, she got no break and people just yelled at her, I didn't really see anything with her actually doing chemistry.

Members don't see this ad.

Well, the best advice I can give you would be to reevaluate how much you enjoy chemistry after you've taken some classes in college. College is a big change from high school and you really won't know how you feel about certain subjects until it's 2 am the night before the final.