1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

medicine changing to surgery

Discussion in 'Surgery and Surgical Subspecialties' started by samer333, Apr 28, 2007.

1. samer333

samer333 Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi everyone!

I am a 2nd yr med resident, soon starting my 3rd year. I am interested in applying to surgery.

I did not get surgery initially, thus I scrambled and got medicine. Surgery is still my passion. I was wondering if after doing 3 years of medicine will significantly raise my chances of getting into a surgical categorical spot?

Thanks for reading.
    Samer

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Winged Scapula

Winged Scapula Cougariffic!
    Staff Member Administrator Physician Faculty Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 15+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I doubt it...remember, you will be out of CMS/HCFA funding, which will be a strike against you and there will be questions as to why you didn't keep trying to get a surgery position rather than go straight into medicine.

Surgery is more competitive these days than it was 3 years ago when you applied. That doesn't mean that your medical knowledge won't be valuable - it certainly would be, but rather that its difficult for everyone to match and your medical training will not significantly affect your application, IMHO.

4. Why did you continue as a medicine resident, instead of reapplying for surgery?

5. bubblegumbezoar

bubblegumbezoar Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I would be interested to know if that works for you. I do know of a pediatrician who went into optho and another internal medicine graduate who went into optho after both completed their first residencies, but more than 5 years ago, so I think that funding may be an issue, but I also think that basically, if some program wants you, they want you, and that's the end of it.