Meeting w/ head of department in specialty of interest. How do I proceed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Soulidaulph

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am very interested in a specialty that is a very small field. I am meeting with the head of the department at our school in two weeks and would like to discuss shadowing and research opportunities. I want to cut to the chase and express that I want to become involved w/ clinical research and more extensively over the summer between m1/m2. How should I approach this? I want to be clear of my intentions as far as publications go but dont want to come on too strong. Any advice on anything else we should talk about?

Members don't see this ad.

to clarify, i have 3 years of experience in research in this field from undergrad

HlmP3CDA.jpeg

Use your words and people skills. Let your enthusiasm show. Don't overthink it. You'll be fine.

Members don't see this ad :)
Don't put the cart before the horse. Unless your UG research was clinical, you may realize that you actually hate the day-to-day operations of this specialty. Shadow a few times and see if you like it because there is nothing worse than a studnt who commits to a research project and doesn't follow through/half-asses it

Reactions: 1 user
Don't put the cart before the horse. Unless your UG research was clinical, you may realize that you actually hate the day-to-day operations of this specialty. Shadow a few times and see if you like it because there is nothing worse than a studnt who commits to a research project and doesn't follow through/half-asses it

Sorry about that, I should have clarified. I have about 300 hours of shadowing from highschool/undergrad. About 50 of those hours were in this specialty at both academic and private hospitals. I know that there is always a chance I will change my mind, but I'm pretty sure this is what I want to pursue.