Mental problems as a result of digestive problems

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Meggs

Dpr@v@2
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm not a regular user of this forum (I'm a dentist), but I need your help. I also posted this on the psychiatry forum.

I need to find info (preferably online) on mental problems as a result of digestive problems. I've been searching using google, but so far no luck. Can some of you point out some website for me to read?

Thanks, ahead,

Meggs

Members don't see this ad.

There's tons of stuff on this topic. Here's a sample of articles from a quick search of Pub Med.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

J Clin Psychiatry. 2001;62 Suppl 8:28-36; discussion 37.

Depression, anxiety, and the gastrointestinal system.

Mayer EA, Craske M, Naliboff BD.

Department of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles, USA. [email protected]

Functional disorders of the digestive system, such as irritable bowel syndrome, are often associated with affective disorders, such as depression, anxiety, panic, and posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Some of these associations are observed not only in clinical populations, but also in population-based samples, suggesting a relationship with pathophysiologic mechanisms underlying both gastrointestinal (GI) dysfunction and certain affective disorders. Sustained and acute life-threatening stressors play an important role in the onset and modulation of GI symptoms as well as in the development of affective disorders and PTSD. A neurobiological model is proposed that attempts to explain the development of visceral hypersensitivity, the neuroendocrine and autonomic dysfunction characteristic of functional GI disorders, as well as the overlap with affective disorders.

---------------------------------------------------------