anhnen5

2+ Year Member
Jan 1, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello everyone! I'm currently applying for research positions to do for the next 2 years. I'm working on my resume/cover letters to send out to some positions I'm interested in.

I was always interested in research and I regret not doing it during my undergrad years. However, I do remember my research oriented course professors seemed biased against pre-meds. Honestly, it always felt like they were harder and more harsh on my friend and I's work (we were the only Pre-meds in our graduating class, everyone else was pursuing PhDs and Masters). Bioinformatics major though. Is this a common thing or am I just being silly?

After graduating, I worked as a scribe for 2 years. I've never had any formal lab experience, so I want to explore my interest in research now to see if it would be something I would be interested in during med school (If I get in of course). Would it be taboo to mention I was a medical scribe for 2 years on my resume and during interviews (and most of my activities are all med related)? I know either way I have to eventually (if not immediately) mention I'm planning to pursue medical school. I definitely don't want them to think I'm just doing research to fulfill a checklist. I genuinely do want to learn from these experiences.

Any feedback appreciated. Thank you! :)

Last edited:
Jul 23, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Be honest. Don't you plan on taking time off for interviews? Asking a PI for a letter? Sharing your hopes and dreams with your coworkers over a beer? I've worked as a research assistant for a number of years. Its going to take a year to just get you up to speed and productive. If you can commit 2-4 years to the job you'll have more to show for it (both in terms of expertise and publications), and be worth their time. If you want to work in a lab do your homework. Show you care about their research and relate it back to your own interests and coursework.