Mentioning that my mom is a dentist in college essay?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

toooooooeeee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm applying to a few dental programs for college and was wondering if I should write about how my mom is a dentist? I'm a international student and my mom has a dual license - she has work experience in the USA. I'm not sure if mentioning that will help me, especially in private unis such as BU or NYU.

Members don't see this ad.

As in you're applying to their BS or BA program? I don't really remember what the prompts are for college essays, but only mention it if it flows with your theme. If you're writing about how she has influenced you and your professional goals, and how going to XYZ University is a major step in the process, sure go for it. But it's going to have absolutely no bearing, whatsoever, on getting admitted to dental school at those institutions.

I'm applying to a few dental programs for college and was wondering if I should write about how my mom is a dentist? I'm a international student and my mom has a dual license - she has work experience in the USA. I'm not sure if mentioning that will help me, especially in private unis such as BU or NYU.