WestHaven626

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Sep 8, 2007
Status
Medical Student
Hey guys, I'm in a bind here and wanted some advice.
Here's my life:
I graduated from with a 3.36 Neurobiology Major
MCAT Aug 2006: 23S
MCAT Sep 2007: 25S

I applied to med schools got rejected by all...(except the Caribbean ; ) )

Here's the new twist...
I've been into film and producing, and I am offered a spot
in a very prestigious film school...My long term goal is to balance both.

I plan on retaking the MCAT again
and getting a 30+ before film school starts. I've got about 6 months to
get serious...

My question is...

Is a post-bac necessary to increase my GPA? Or would it be just
as worth it to get an MFA from a great film school to be more well rounded?

I'd appreciate any kind of advice.

notdeadyet

Still in California
10+ Year Member
Jul 23, 2004
Status
Attending Physician
No, you need a post-bac.

The initial cut that med schools make is based on MCAT and undergrad GPA. Med schools see graduate degrees as nice icing on the cake, but they won't compensate for a substandard GPA. The reason is that grad school grades tend to be very inflated, so they don't mean a whole lot. This is true for sciences and I'm sure that carries over to film.

Decide how much you want to go to medical school. If your heart is in it, you need to take a good two years of doing postbac work to repair your GPA and use that time to bring your MCAT up a heck of a lot.

Then you'll be in the running. Any shortcuts now and you'll be spinning your wheels.

Good luck with your decision.

1956Goldtop

10+ Year Member
Jan 11, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
Post-bacc. You don't need an MFA to pursue a hobby. You will need a higher GPA to pursue a career in medicine though.

SageFrancis

10+ Year Member
Feb 5, 2008
Status
Medical Student
Putting down film making on AMCAS is an interesting point for discussion during an interview.

Getting an MFA makes schools wonder what you're doing.