MFTs in New York opportunities..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eilat87

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello hows everybody doing. My significant other is going to be an MFT. shes currently pursuuing her MA in counseling psychology at USF (san francisco), and she just found out that California internships are not paid.. unlike the internships in other states.. We both are new york city natives.. would it be possible for her to come back to nyc to do her internship here and then get licensed back in CA? and how possible is it to find an internship as well as a job as an MFT in nyc? Thanks. Much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not an expert on MFT, but I do live in NYC and did consider getting a master's in that subject. I chose MSW instead, and one of the key reasons was the amount of post-grad opportunities. MFT is very new in New York state (the license only became recognized a few years ago) and basically virtually no one even knows what an MFT is if you go around sending out your applications. Most places in NY require the LMSW or LCSW and won't even consider you with an LMHC or LMFT. California is one of the few states that treats LMFTs and LMSWs somewhat equally. If you are looking to get internship hours here, you will have a very hard time and it will probably be unpaid as well. I think the people who are able to find a location as an MFTi are those who went to school in the region and continued their internship at their field placement site. Good luck.

are there nyc schools with programs that have an emphasis on MFT? if so.. what are they? thanks for your reply.

Members don't see this ad :)
are there nyc schools with programs that have an emphasis on MFT? if so.. what are they? thanks for your reply.

Hofstra, for one...