MHA and Job Expierience.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xDennis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I just graduated in the spring, I didnt fully decide on what I wanted to do until a month or 2 after I graduated.

I have not worked in the Public Health field, however I want to pursue a career in Health Administration. I management, that's why I want to pursue a MHA vs MPA.

Now, I don't have any job experience in the field. I've turned in my volunteer application for the local department of public health.. but that will be about all.

When applying to these MHA programs, what are the largest factors on your application they look at? I have a 3.1GPA and have not taken the GRE yet however I am going to start studying for that soon. I was very active in the community and have a lot of volunteer hours (not necessarily in the health field) and I can provide stron letters of rec's

I'm just worried my GPA is too low, and I don't have any experience in the field.

Members don't see this ad.

I can't say to specifics for MHA programs since I was applying to Community Health and Epi programs, but I did have very similar stats to yours prior to taking the GREs. I did do well on them, but undergrad GPA and prior work experience were very similar.

I was accepted at all but one of the programs that I applied to and if you want to get an idea of what school range I was shooting for I applied to programs within the top 20 but outside of the top 10 based on US News rankings. I've heard people on here say they got in with similar stats though to higher ranked programs (though I have to say I didn't make any kind of final decision based on those rankings because I'm not sold on them).

Members don't see this ad :)
XDennis - I too am interested in going into Health Administration.