Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Micro Major What are my Options?

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by Microbe1211, Dec 27, 2008.

1. Microbe1211

Pre-Medical
    I'm new to SDN and it has been a great help. I am starting my planning for Med school. I have a few questions about my possiblities of getting into med school and will appreciate any help I can get.

1. I have 3.0 cum and 3.0 science GPA, with one F in org chem first try. I took my bio and gen chem 10 years ago. Will they count or do I need to take them again and what should I do with my org chem?:(

2. I took MCAT in 2006 and made a 20. I went in with low prep and applied to some TX schools and rejected. What are my options?:thumbdown:

3. What should be my next course? a SMP or post bacc or both? :confused:

Would love to hear some thoughts as to what my options may be? Thanks a bunch!

2. njbmd

njbmd Guest
    Moderator Emeritus 5+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Your 3.0 is pretty low by today's medical school standards. Your options are post-bacc work (long, long road to get anywhere) and SMP (Special Masters Program which are expensive, competitive and potentially career-ending if you don't do well). You can choose your poison and decide what you want to do.

Obviously, you are going to need to retake that MCAT and score competitively unless you can get into an SMP with linkage and ace the coursework. Do you need an upgrade on your knowledge? Do you need practice with the types of questions that are found on the MCAT? You need to figure out what you need and get this done too.