Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Microbiology & Anatomy?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by premed student, Dec 12, 2005.

1. premed student

premed student Go Bears!
    10+ Year Member

Hi guys,

I'm a non-traditional student who was a non-science major in undergrad (UCBerkeley) and took all the premed req's at Cal State Fullerton. I already applied for the class of 2010 and waiting for interviews. Right now, I'm taking Genetics at a community college and working to pay bills. I was wondering if I should take Microbiology and Anatomy next semester before I start medschool or if I should just take it easy and enjoy my time before the school. Those two courses are offered in medschool and I heard that some med schools don't even recommend taking anatomy ahead.

Any advice would be appreciated!
    Thank you! : )

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. MollyMalone

MollyMalone I'm a Score Quadruplet
    Moderator Emeritus 5+ Year Member

FYI, posting the same thread in multiple forums is a no-no.

I certainly wouldn't take micro. Anatomy might give you a bit of a head start but, especially at a CC, is going to be nowhere near what you'll see in med school and probably not all that helpful. I'd save the cash and enjoy a little downtime.

4. lattimer13

lattimer13 good boy!
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    hold off on these courses until you have to take them in med school. if you're going to take a class, take a foreign language or something else that interests you that you won't have time for while in med school, residency or your career.

5. tacrum43

tacrum43 Behold the mighty echidna
    7+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Resident [Any Field]