MicroBiology before the MCAT - or more study time?!?

• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

SailCrazy

I gotta have more cowbell
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 26, 2004
Procrastination Island
Status (Visible)
Ok... I have another scheduling question for ya'

I'm currently scheduling classes for all of next year. I will be taking the MCAT in April 2005.

A little background: I am a nontraditional student with a lot of time to spend academically and a good focus on my class work & MCAT preparation. I don't have too many "other distractions," so I'm probably much more likely than most students to be successful with a heavier course load & MCAT prep at the same time. I plan on a lot of MCAT prep including many practice exams either way.

That said, I don't want to bit off way too much in the semester preceding the MCAT. :eek:

I will definitely be taking the following classes that semester:
Orgo II
Physiology w/ Lab
PreProfessional Seminar ("get ready for Med apps" class)

I am choosing between one of the following:
Microbiology Lecture
Microbiology Lecture (same as option 1) & Lab
Intro to Research in Health Science (easy class, major requirement)

Should I take the Micro for MCAT knowledge or take the easy class and have more of study time? :confused: (Not that I won't be studying a lot either way...!)

Thanks for you advice!

Dr. Xavier

I can read your mind
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 24, 2003
mutant headquarters
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
There is no micro on the mcat, so don't waste your time. And most of the micro in undergrade is different from the medical micro you'll take in second year of med school.

mikestuy

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 17, 2003
Status (Visible)
I disagree. There is microbio on the MCAT or at least microbio-related passages (as I recall).