Mid 20's career change to vet med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

noellehallman

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone....

I have recently decided to fulfill my dream of becoming a vet! I start back to school to get my second bachelor's this summer and I am so excited! I graduated in 2003 with a GPA under 3.0 in Public Relations. I plan on taking all the pre-req classes while maintaining my full time job so I have a lot of work ahead of me and I was just wondering if anyone else out there is in the same boat? I would love to hear from you! Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

THANKS!

Members don't see this ad.

Yay! Welcome! I am exactly in the same boat. Just finished my first semester back taking one pre-req. I am also going to continue working full-time until I (hopefully) get in! I hear you on having a lot of work ahead, but I know it will be worth it. Good luck! :D

Hey!

I'm sort of in the same boat...I sped the process up a bit (graduated and then decided pretty much right away that I didn't want to do anything with my degree and that I'd hate myself if I didn't at least *try* to become a vet)

Don't freak out too much! Yes, it's a LOT of work. But I found that being able to do *just* science courses was easier for me than trying to get them in when I was also taking other classes. It gave me more focus and motivation. And now I LOVE science - to the point where my back-up plan has shifted to seeking higher education in chemistry, instead of something humanities-based.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yay! Welcome! I am exactly in the same boat. Just finished my first semester back taking one pre-req. I am also going to continue working full-time until I (hopefully) get in! I hear you on having a lot of work ahead, but I know it will be worth it. Good luck! :D