Midwestern MS BMS vs. UCL MSc Precision Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scienceisthefuture

Reaction score
Hello everyone:

I am debating on pursuing a Masters in my gap year before medical school (prefer MD > DO). I graduated with an avg GPA of 3.6 and am retaking the MCAT in two weeks. This cycle (start fall of 2018) I applied to only DO schools for that reason. I have research, publications, extracurriculars, etc. The only reason I did not submit my application to MD schools was bc of my < 50% MCAT score.

Debating between two Masters programs: Midwestern University MS Biomedical Sciences and UniversityCollegeLondon (UCL) MSc Precision Medicine.

Benefits of MWU:
-Guaranteed interview for DO seat if a 3.0 GPA is maintained
-Not too far from home
-The curriculum directly appreciates medical school knowledge (anatomy, physiology, microbiology)

Benefits of UCL:
-Same COA as MWU (31k tuition + living expenses in London)
-Unique opportunity to explore precision medicine in a fine University (ranked top 20 in the world)
-Once in a lifetime opportunity to study abroad and rub shoulders with incredibly smart people

From UCL website "You will develop advanced knowledge in all aspects of precision medicine including genomics, bioinformatics, structural biology, genetics and epigenetics of disease and their precision diagnosis and treatment, biomedical imaging techniques, nanomedicines; generation and analysis of big data. You will gain awareness of the context in which precision medicine is being applied in healthcare, research and industry. You will also develop a range of intellectual, practical and transferable skills essential for a career in this field."