Military and Car registration: does car registration affect your residency status?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrMetal

To shred or not shred?
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you live in a state, own property in it, and pay state income taxes . . . that's enough to declare you a resident of that state, right?

What if your vehicle is registered in a different state? Does that matter?

For instance: I live in CA, own a house there, and happily pay CA state taxes, and I've been a CA resident my whole life. Have a CA driver's license. But my car is registered in Virginia (that's where I bought it). Does my Virginia DMV registration impact my CA residency, in any way? (I want to be recognized as a CA resident . . .kids college tuitions on the horizon).

Members don't see this ad.

If you live in a state, own property in it, and pay state income taxes . . . that's enough to declare you a resident of that state, right?

For instance: I live in CA, own a house there, and happily pay CA state taxes, and I've been a CA resident my whole life. Have a CA driver's license. But my car is registered in Virginia (that's where I bought it). Does my Virginia DMV registration impact my CA residency, in any way? (I want to be recognized as a CA resident . . .kids college tuitions on the horizon).
Yes.

Not what you asked but my recollection is CA requires residents to register their vehicles in CA.

Reactions: 1 user
So, interesting from: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2015/15_1031.pdf

A resident is any individual who meets any of the following:•Present in California for other than a temporary or transitory purpose .•Domiciled in California, but outside California for a temporary or transitory purpose . (See Section L, Meaning of Domicile, on page 9)

and