Military for dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jb05241995

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there. I am currently a first year student at NYU dental school. I have recently become interested in the military program offered to the dental students. I'm a bit lost on the whole topic and as wondering if anyone could give some feedback. Is it only the Navy or do the other branches have this program? Do they pay for your school? When you sign the contract, what are you supposed to give them, as in how many years do you have to work for them, etc? I also don't know if I would like to specialize. Do they pay for this too? How does it all work? Thank you, guys.

Members don't see this ad.

All branches have the scholarships. The army has 4 and 3 year scholarships. If you already started school you could get the 3 year scholarship but you better talk to a recruiter now to see if you get it. They pay for your tuition and most fees and give you a living stipend of around 2k a month. The army also has a 20k bonus but you have to sign for an extra year if you do the 3 year scholarship so you'd owe 4 years total. It is payback 1 year for 1 year of scholarship. The military have their own specialties you apply for those the same as applying for civilian residencies.

Reactions: 1 user
All branches have the scholarships. The army has 4 and 3 year scholarships. If you already started school you could get the 3 year scholarship but you better talk to a recruiter now to see if you get it. They pay for your tuition and most fees and give you a living stipend of around 2k a month. The army also has a 20k bonus but you have to sign for an extra year if you do the 3 year scholarship so you'd owe 4 years total. It is payback 1 year for 1 year of scholarship. The military have their own specialties you apply for those the same as applying for civilian residencies.