All Branch Topic (ABT) Military HPSP 2018-2019

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mybluedog

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thought I’d get an early start and create an all branch HPSP group for us applying in the year of 2018-2019.

I’m an incoming C/O 2022 MS1 and was a little late to the game learning about the scholarship. Will be playing for the three year scholarship!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Which branch are you applying to? I've been looking at Army and USAF for awhile now.

FYI, I'm an incoming Special Masters Student who just completed AMCAS and AACOMAS hoping for Fall 2019 matriculation.

Best of luck in your MD+DO cycle!

I’m applying to the Navy, but since I just decided to go for the 3 year, I’m thinking about the other two as well. What made you decide for Army and AF?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks dude!

I'm originally from overseas USAF Base, did Civil Air Patrol for 2 years in High School so I know the culture and bases so I was initially leaning towards USAF HPSP. But I later found that HPSP spots are half of the size of Army (duh) and residency in the military are not guaranteed; have to apply for civilian as well. General medical officer (GMO) duty as a Flight Surgeon is cool but that's 2 years of your time before residency so I'm pretty uneasy with deferring the residency.

For Army, they have been coming to my university every semester advertising for HPSP and their HPSP slots never fill up meaning you should be guaranteed to score a spot. Their residency slots are massive so almost everyone gets some type of residency whether ranging from EM to Neurosurgery (competitiveness still applies for tough residencies). Finally they do not have mandatory GMO duty like Navy or perhaps USAF so doing residency after med school is a absolute must for them.