Military Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SoCal

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is anyone one else considering this? I am giving this some serious thought, and could use some advice from you all.

Members don't see this ad.

I am in the process of applying for the Navy HPSP. If you are willing to commit to the military, then there is no argument against it. Consider the fact that you will graduate from med school with close to 200K in debt and will be making 35-40k/year as a resident. In the military, you will be an officer, make >50k as a resident, and have ZERO debt (other than your soul for four years post residency). Plus the recruiter gave me really good pizza when I was a starving undergrad, so how could I turn her down:laugh:

BTW, just returned from my TUCOM interview. I thought it went well.

Later,

WannabeDO

I second that.

Members don't see this ad :)
just out of morbid curiosity, do medical students with families/relationships tend to survive ok if the enter into the military programs? During my interview at LECOM I met anther interviewee who had been in the military for years and was planning on it for DO school. He had a family that was very young and up-rootable.

I will be entering this year (somewhere), and my g/f will be entering next year (wow class 2008), and just wondering what kind of options the military (depending on branch of course) gives, how good the residencies are, etc? anyone ever try this?