1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

military reservists... while in med school

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by ttac, Apr 3, 2002.

1. ttac

ttac Trust me, it's still fun.
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Hi everybody,
    Well, since I have read a few posts from military people here, I thought I'd ask if anyone was (or is) in a similar situation, and what they did...

Here goes:

I'm currently a combat engineer officer (company XO) in the Army National Guard, and I have been for the past 5 years. I had a 3-year Army ROTC scholarship when I was in college, and I have had the opportunity to attend some hooah training(i.e. active duty Sapper Leader Course, OBC). I still owe the Army until 2005 (although after talking to some recruiter/personnel people this morning, I think I only owe until 2003 until I can go IRR for 2 years).

My dilemma is that I will be starting med school this august, and if I choose to go to a civilian school, I still owe the Army reserve time until I finish repaying them for the ROTC scholarship I had. However, I don't know if I will be able to afford to give up one weekend per month while in med school. As a combat arms officer, there is much more to the job than just showing up on saturday morning, and leaving on sunday night. One definitely has to put in the time during the week and I doubt if I would be able to afford that amount of time when in med school.