Military to Med School; The path forward?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chemfantry16

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm currently an Army officer on active duty. I've got a little over two years until I transition back to being a civilian and I'm giving med school a hard look right now.

A little background: BS in Information Technology with a 3.6 GPA from a large state school. I did ROTC but little else in college other than a job with the university. I haven't taken many (any?) of the pre-reqs for med school so I anticipate doing some kind of post-bacc. Since I've been in, I deployed to the middle east and have performed well enough to get some strong letters of recommendation. I didn't really consider med school until I moved to my current duty station near my sister who is an MD. She tossed it out there and I think it might be a good fit if I can swing it.

My questions:
1) What can/should I be doing now to help figure out if med school is right for me and/or to bolster my application? I don't have a lot of free time but possibly I could do things on weekends.

2) Do I need to do a formal post-bacc program or can I self-direct one at a school closer to where I want to be upon separation from the military? Will self-directing put me at a disadvantage?

I'm sure I'll think of more but thanks for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

I'm currently an Army officer on active duty. I've got a little over two years until I transition back to being a civilian and I'm giving med school a hard look right now.