1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Minoring/Majoring in a Liberal Art w/a Science Major

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by ebsameer, Aug 6, 2006.

1. ebsameer

ebsameer Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

This post stems off my other, so, yea.

I was curious as to whether there were any Pre-Med students majoring in both Science and a liberal art (or minoring in the liberal art).

For those who have, what kind of difficulties did you meet (aside from ignorance) in balancing both a Science major and a Liberal Art major/minor? What were reponses from med schools to your choice?

As of now, I'm majoring in Biology (not only b/c of Pre-med), and hoping to minor in Art History (like the subject). Would it be wise to bump it up to a major or keep it as a minor (requires 36 hours for a BA in ARTH)? I'm just worried it might become overkill if I try double majoring with Biology...

Please share your awkward major/minor combinations (Science + Liberal Art). Thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. LucidSplash

LucidSplash Bloody Plumber
    Physician Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    I majored in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology and minored in Anthropology. I would have gone for the double major if not for two things: 1 - I didn't discover anthro until sophomore year, leaving too little time to squeeze in everything I needed to major (it was technically possible but not without a psychotic courseload for the remaining 5 semesters that I didn't think I could maintain) and 2 - the biochemistry/mol. bio. thesis was a two semester thesis at my school and I didn't want to be trying to do two thesises at the same time.