Mom before dental school, is it possible?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CalledtobeMe

Reaction score
I have wanted to be a denstist since I was 8, and now I’m 25 and feel further away from my dream now than when I first discovered my passion. Background- I graduated undergrad in 2015 with a bachelors in biology GPA was like a 3.5-3.8 something like that. I took the DAT twice and got a 16 both times so I became discouraged and feared taking the test again. I’m smart but when it comes to those types of test I just don’t do well. I worked in a prostate cancer lab for two years, met my husband had a baby, and now having another baby and all I can think about is pursuing my dream again.

The first challenge will be passing the DAT with a 21 or higher. But what I’m really worried about is can I even balance a family and dental school? We don’t really have family near us so it’ll just be me and my husband with a toddler and an infant. I don’t want to send my kids to someone else so they can raise them while I pursue my career. My husband works and loves what he does but he is willing to sacrifice so that I can go to school. I’m not sure if he knows the depth of dental school, I’m not even sure I know how difficult it will be. Does anyone know if this is possible. I keep searching for answers but I need people (moms) who have and are going through this to help me. Is this doable? I really just need encouragement so that I can know it’s possible.

Members don't see this ad.