Oct 11, 2019
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello,

I was a single mom through undergrad after going through a divorce (baby at 18, married at 19...big life lessons learned along the way...). I graduated in May 2019 with a GPA ~3.6x. Long story short, I doubted myself as a premed all through undergrad and ended up applying to an accelerated nursing program that began last August. After working in a hospital as an aide over the summer and after 2 weeks of nursing school I dreaded my future and realized medicine was still my calling. I withdrew from the nursing program the day of the 100% tuition deadline.

Fast-forward to now: My current husband (who went to the same undergrad as me) and I moved to the major metro area he is from (I am from a rural area and our undergrad was in a rural area). I am 30 weeks pregnant and due in April. After deciding to leave nursing school I decided to hop back onto the med school route and started preparing for the MCAT. I just took the official Practice Exam 1 and scored 511. (This is after 3 months of content review but 1 month of intensely going through the Kaplan books). I am super happy, and registered to take the exam on March 14th. I am going to spend the next month on all the AAMC material. There are only 4 schools I can apply to (because of my joint custody plan with my older child's dad, I need to stay in the state). Their average MCAT scores are 503, 507, 508, 513 (2 DO and 2 MD). So I am feeling really confident.