ilona

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 30, 2005
Houston
Status
I have been working full time for about 5 years. I am starting to freak out that I won't have enough money (loans, scholarships) to live on while in medschool. Is the school going to take care of the paper work for me or I should start doing someting on my own? Where does the most money come from? Loans? How much will they give me?
I already filled out FAFSA, but since I have been making quite alot will the government give me any money?

:scared:

eldarion3141

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 4, 2004
Pa
Visit site
Status
I have resigned myself to the fact that i will have to have to finance 100% of my medical school education from loans. :scared:

There are ways to reduce the bite of interest payments though,
try and stick to the government loans, like:

Stafford subsidized ($8,500 per year) loan that the governemnt pays off the interets for while you are in school. interest rate is based on the 90 day Treasury bill + 1.7%. There is a cap on interest rates of 8.25%

Stafford Unsubsidized ($ 30,000) loan that that government has, there is interest, but it starts to accrue while in school and payments start after the 6 month grace period. interest rate based on t-bill (see above)
Perkins Loans: dependant on financial eligibility based on FAFSA numbers

:eek: :eek: :eek:
PRIVATE LOANS: These are the worst types of loans to get, the interest accrues during school, and they are from private companies whose main goal is to make money. There are certain fees that also apply (0-6%) during repayment. There is NO CAP on interest rates! The various interest rates are based on your credit score as well

There is a way to finance your medical education from the various prgrams that ARMy, NAvy, and Air Force sponsor that pays for all of medical school, and books, plus a monthly stiped, all you have to do is serve for evry year that you took advantage of the program (after you do your residency, of course)