Technology Money to spend

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bryanboling5

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some help. I'm a nursing student with a certain amount of money to spend each year. I can spend it on anything that can be considered a school or future work expense. Because of thriftiness on my part when buying books, I've got about $660 left for this year. I will probably have a few smaller expenses, but certainly NOT $660. There is no incentive to not spend this money. I owe the hospital 2 years of employment for getting two years of money and that doesn't get reduced if I don't spend all the money. If I don't spend the money this year, I lose it. So, I was thinking about getting a new PDA.

The problem is, I've got an older PDA and I NEVER use it. I've got ePocrates and a couple of other things on it, but still never use it. I talk to several nurses who use PDAs to look up drugs or do calculations, but honestly, I don't find myself having to look up stuff that much. I would like to be able to get online, but I also don't want to get somehting like an iPhone or a Blackberry that will cost me more per month than my existing cell phone.

I was thinking if there was something good that would allow me to get online using WiFi, and could be used like a PDA for storing document (books, reference, etc) that might be cool. Any ideas? I just read a review of the Nokia 810 Internet Tablet and it looks cool, but it is Linux and I don't know anything about Linux. I don't know if you can get applications for it or if that even matters if I can get online. Any feedback you could offer would be VERY helpful!

Thanks,
Bryan

Members don't see this ad.