Motley Fool worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

1FutureDDS

Dani California
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Or am I about to take a $150.00 hit? Tell me your thoughts on this "guidance company"

Members don't see this ad.

Do the 1 month free trial and decide for yourself. It's a good service, but it's only worth it if you are investing a good amount of money because you have to recoup your $150 in order for it to be worth it. They have a good track record, though.

1FutureDDS said:
Or am I about to take a $150.00 hit? Tell me your thoughts on this "guidance company"

I have some experience with these guys as I am a customer for two of their strategies - value and rule breakers (growth/tech-oriented stocks). Each has significantly outperformed the market over the last 12 months, which is about the length of my membership. That said, you could seriously underperform (or outperform) their returns if you aren't diligent enough to pull the trigger every time they make a recommendation to buy or sell, which is monthly. Also, the more you invest, the less the membership fee weighs you down. In addition, they have a very informative forum with some fairly sophisticated amateur investors so their site can be quite informative. Had to do over agian, I would.

Hope this helps.

Members don't see this ad :)
1FutureDDS said:

My recommendation would be to spend $15 and buy A Random Walk Down Wallstreet by Bernard Malkiel or Uncoventional Success by Dave Swensen.

Malkiel is a former ibanker who is now an economics professor at princeton. His book is considered a classic, is well written, and shows all the data to back up his points.

Swensen invests Yale's endowment and has a superb record (the best of any college endowment). His book is rather dry, but since he is the best institiutional investor, its worth a look.