MPH grad, need advice for DPT schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VinVin84

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK, In another week I will have completed my Masters for Health Policy Management from CUNY Hunter (GPA 3.3 or 3.2). However, I still have a passion for physical therapy and would love to pursue my DPT afterwards.(Both of my parents are physicians, so I grew up with medicine, and I have quite a bit of volunteer work and experience under my belt). Also, I've been working doing bio-medical research for a dialysis unit affiliated with NYU.

I graduated from SUNY Albany in 06 as a Human Biology major (my GPA was a 3.0),I have a good amount of my pre-requisite courses done though:

Human phys I+Lab=B
Gen Bio II+Lab=B
Bio-Stats (at a graduate level)=A-
Gen Psych=A-
Psych Elective=A-
English=B-
Upper Division Courses, (at a graduate Level)=B+

I did horrible with my chem and physics as an undergrad so I'm going to go back and knock out Chem I +II and Physics I+II (my goal, while it obviously won't be easy would be to get A's in those classes to pull up my science GPA). Also my GRE's weren't the greatest when I initially took them in 07 (880)

This is the catch though, my dreams school that i'm super set on going to is SUNY Downstate, they wave the GRE requirement for me b/c I have my Masters.

My question is, what do you think my standing would be as an applicat for there program? I know I need to have more backup schools as well so if there any suggestions for any other DPT schools that anyone could suggest I'd GREATLY appreciate it.

:)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: