MPH/PUBLIC HEALTH IN GENERAL

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by Beccalyn, Jan 25, 2001.

1. Beccalyn

Beccalyn Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

I was wondering if any of you that have been accepted have an MPH/MPHd or know of anyone who has..Is there any specific reasons why you chose medicine after working in public health?? any insight would be great=o)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. muffet

muffet New Member

Hi,

I have an MPH,emphasis in Epi, I graduated a few years ago. Currently, I am working in one of the largest HMO company in US. I wanted to get an MPH right after undergrad and it was a good decision for me. I was able to work in a Department of Public for my masters project and with my current job I'm definitely learning about the administration side of healthcare. This is something that not alot of premeds or meds students don't know about.
    In the fall, I'll be a first year medical student. Overall, my MPH was useful, I have a great career in healthcare if I decided to stay, but I know in my heart I wanted to be a doctor. The few years I spend working as a research in a HMO company is definitely a plus for my future career as a physician. I don't know if I answered your question.

4. chelledogg

chelledogg Junior Member