MPH & scholarships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anya79

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am trying to decide between Berkeley (interdisciplinary, 1 year) and Hopkins (health policy). I'm a CA resident so Berkeley is much cheaper. Hopkins has some scholarships but I haven't heard anything back yet, so I am assuming I'll be paying the full $43K if i go there. Has anyone heard about scholarships like Sommer or other large sum ones?
How important is the name/private education that I could get at Hopkins? I will have a MD in 2 years and people have said that where I get the MPH isn't as important. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Assuming your interests would be covered by either program, you're probably better off going to Berkeley. If you're getting an MD anyway, it's unlikely that where you got the MPH will make a huge difference unless you're looking for hard-core public health jobs (and even then, the "name" difference between Berkeley and Hopkins isn't so big). Save up for med school! Also, unless you're thirsting for an "East Coast experience", most of Berkeley's a much nicer place to live than most of Baltimore. If Hopkins offers you a full ride, then you might reconsider. But otherwise, I'd say go to Berkeley!

However.....

I went to Berkeley (for my BS/BA) and worked in the School of Public Health...I now am finishing my MPH and work for Johns Hopkins (though I don't go there...they pay me, nice deal!)

I would make sure you check out the school at Berkeley, it is not as strong in "public health"and is a VERY research oriented program. If what you want to do is Research (and I mean the kind of reaserch that involves a bench) then Berkeley will be phenomenal. But i did not continue there because I wanted a more interdisciplinary program.