MSTP in history of medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunnypiano6

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello hello!

This is my first thread, so please forgive me if I post anything that is wrong and what not.

I am currently a third year undergrad at UPenn, studying Chemistry/Philosophy/History. I want to do an MD/PhD in history of medicine, but I couldn't find too many resources that were dedicated to that - I was wondering if there were any MD/PhD peeps out there who were completing a PhD in history of medicine, and what would be helpful for admissions?

Thank you so much for your time!

sunnypiano6

I have personally never heard of anyone doing that, but I'm sure tha people do. I would think it would be difficult to find many places that offer this. Remember, that the goal of most MD/PhD programs is to train physician-scientists, although some allow for other types of programs ethics, anthropology (still science).

I know that it is very early in your career and things change, but what do you see yourself doing in 20 years with an MD and PhD in the history of medicine?

I know a couple, but it's just MD/PhD not MSTP (ie fork over the cash for the MD). You take a LOA after the first 2 yrs and do your PhD. Basically, it's most easily accomplished if you go to a med school that has a university with a history of science department/program (there aren't many). You apply to the PhD once you get there (I think). Also, you don't have to do a PhD (4-5 yrs). I know Harvard offers a masters and some sort of certificate in HSci at HMS. Oh and there are definitely some cool job prospects out there!

Penn has a significant hist sci program should have knowledgable people there to talk to. I have a couple of names of people to talk to as well (PM me if interested).

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello hello!