Multiple Personality Disorder

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

actressnwriter

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, my name is Emily and I am a High school student. For an upcoming project I am to write a paper on a topic of my choosing. I have chosen to write about MPD. I will not tell you my thesis, as it may effect you answers.

What I would like to get from you, is for you to answer a few questions, give my your age(optional) and your area of expertise/ degree in medicine if you have one. If you are not a practitioner, you are still welcome to participate.

Do you recognize MPD as a valid mental condition?

Have you ever diagnosed MPD?

Do you personally believe in MPD? Why or why not?

What are your criteria, or the medical fields criteria to classify something as a mental illness?

Thank you in advance for any of your responses.

Members don't see this ad.

To clarify, MPD is better known as Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID).

DID is recognized in the DSM-IV-R, which is our diagnostic manual for psych. Some people are skeptical about it, though I believe that it exists, though maybe not in the #'s that are diagnosed.

Have you ever diagnosed MPD? Do you personally believe in MPD? Why or why not?
I've seen it before, though I haven't formally diagnosed it (quite rare to see out there).

What are your criteria, or the medical fields criteria to classify something as a mental illness?
Check into the DSM-IV-R for the criteria for various diagnoses.

I recommend reading the book Sybil (or watching the movie) by Flora Rheta Schreiber. One of the enigma's of MPD is that treatment could actually trigger more personalities, or ir could have produced the original ones for that matter. For that reason many Ph.D.'s were slow to believe the disorder existed without suggestion from the therapist.