Music Major Undergrad: Formal Post bacc or Second Bachelor's?

Sep 11, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
I have a Bachelor of Music in vocal performance. I graduated in 2012 and I am now 25 years old. I graduated summa cum laude with a GPA of 3.94 and won several awards during my time there. I graduated at the top of the music department. I spent the years since graduation recording my album in my home studio and doing some freelance film composition. The instability of this industry is far too stressful for the long term and this week I’ve finally made the decision to return to my other life dream of becoming a MD. I really, really want to go into medical research. My question is, what is the cheapest way to get my prerequisites done that isn’t online/community college? The only science course I took in undergrad was Bio 101 and that was with no lab. Do I have to do a formal post bacc program since I have, basically, no science background? Or can I apply for a second bachelor’s and just drop out when I have all my courses? Or would taking courses a la carte as non degree seeking be cheapest? I currently have no student debt because I had a full academic scholarship to undergrad. It would be nice not to rack up a ridiculous amount of debt before medical school. I also live in Georgia, if that makes any difference, but I could also easily have residence in VA, since my family lives there, or NC, since that’s my fiance’s home state. Any advice for my situation? Also, is it better to knock everything out in a year as a full time student, or is it better to spread it out and work full time? Which looks better on a med school app? Also, should I do anything differently when getting prerequisites given that I want to do medical research (besides the obvious research experience)? Would formal post bacc/second bachelor's/non degree seeking make any difference when aspiring to medical research? Thanks for reading. I appreciate any advice anyone can give me! I'm very excited to begin t