Must Have Books for Self-Study

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iPremed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey!

I am currently a sophomore and I plan on self studying for the MCATS over the summer (abroad). I will take a Kaplan course during the fall if necessary.

Questions

1. I was wondering if you could list the most important books that should be used to prepare for each section. I don't want to carry too many books abroad. (I would appreciate it if you could first list all the books I should get to prepare and then single out the ones I should take with me)

2. Would you get new books or just buy used from amazon?

3. Should I get the complete ExamKrackers books? Or are only a couple of them good? TPR? Should I not get Kaplan books if I plan on taking the course?

4. What would be a good schedule to follow? 2-3 hours/day for most of the summer enough?

5. Should I just focus on content review over the summer and then start taking tests during my junior year?

6. Do the books have enough passages to practice with or should I buy some full length exams before I leave?

7. Did you all take detailed notes while studying?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

I would say that you should probably take ONE diagnostic, if you have not done so already, in order to get an idea of what type of test the MCAT is.

Next choose TWO of the four sciences on the MCAT, depending on which classes you have already taken. so, if you have taken 1 yr. Bio and 1 yr. Chem, then choose those. Take EK Bio & Chem with you ONLY (don't try to take too many books) and take a textbook for each, just in case you need to reference back.

As for schedule, if you can discipline yourself to study 2-3 hrs every single day (maybe take a break on one or two days of the week, after all, you are going abroad), that will be very beneficial.