My Best fit for a Post-bacc? Requirments? Benefits? Funding?

May 16, 2012
Status
Non-Student
Hello,

I am a recent graduate from UCLA and have made the decision to return to my studies and strengthen my science background. I would like to attend a "career changer" post-bacc program, but am not sure which programs might be a good fit for me.

I do not have a strong science background, if any. I do volunteer regularly within the bio-behavioral/ psychiatric realm and have clinical research experience, but with only a 3.6 and poor grades in the "physics for poets" type courses that I did take as an undergrad, I am afraid that some of the more prestigious post-bacc's may be out of reach.

I believe that a formal post bacc may be my best option as I do best within a highly structured environment. As the programs are terribly expensive, I was wondering if anyone might know of some funding resources available for someone in my situation.

I would greatly appreciate any advice you might offer on how I can strengthen my application, where I might apply, and/or how one goes about receiving funding for such a program.

Thank you very much for your time and any feedback.

Best of luck to you all on your endeavors,
Shmia

Chemistry Cat 3.0

Cylon Model 21
7+ Year Member
Mar 3, 2011
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello,

I am a recent graduate from UCLA and have made the decision to return to my studies and strengthen my science background. I would like to attend a "career changer" post-bacc program, but am not sure which programs might be a good fit for me.

I do not have a strong science background, if any. I do volunteer regularly within the bio-behavioral/ psychiatric realm and have clinical research experience, but with only a 3.6 and poor grades in the "physics for poets" type courses that I did take as an undergrad, I am afraid that some of the more prestigious post-bacc's may be out of reach.