My chance for Osteo?

rgk27

May 7, 2012
    Hey guys, so I've been reading up a lot on hear and am currently studying for the MCATS to take in July. I graduated last year. My GPA was not that high, finished with a 3.26 overall. Freshman year of college killed my GPA. Since freshman year, I've been getting at least 3.54 a term. What would I need to get on the MCAT to give me a chance of being accepted into a DO school?

34 to counteract a 3.2? completely wrong. some of you people need to pay a visit to the underdog thread. Dr willy, for example got SEVERAL itnerviews with a 3.1 cum 2.96 science 33 mcat. This guy has a 3.26. Honestly aim for at least a 30, and if you get a 28 id say you're still in it.

34 to counteract a 3.26 for DO? you kidding me? lol. 3.2 isnt even THAT far from the average gpa, around .2 off. And the average mcat is 26.5. A 34 would be amazing but you would def have a chance of getting in with a significantly lower mcat.

Last edited by a moderator:
    About the Ads

Ibn Alnafis MD

10+ Year Member
    Dec 26, 2008
    Where the past and the future intersect
    forums.studentdoctor.net
    1. Resident [Any Field]
      With the proper extra-curricular activities, clinical experiences and shadowing you'll still have a good shot at US DO schools, but you'll need a solid MCAT (34+) to counteract your poor GPA. If possible, I'd suggest retaking the courses you scored most poorly in as most DO schools have a grade replacement policy that will redeem your freshman failures and make you a much more competitive applicant.

A score of 28 would suffice. 34+ is good enough for low-tier MD programs.

What do you mean by "US DO"? are there non-US DO?

angldrps

10+ Year Member
      Oct 23, 2010
      1. Medical Student