My chances? Texas medical schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sicem2019

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I’m want real honesty about my chances of getting in to the Texas medical schools, so here’s my life in a short excerpt!

I’m a Texas resident! (Yay)
MCAT: 503 and 506 retake
GPA: 3.93 science 3.94 all (Baylor grad)
Research: currently work at MD Anderson (~1000 hours of research by next august)
Volunteering: a few hundred hours total (not much, I know)
Work: I’ve been working since I was 16 so well over 1000 hours of working (administrative work, restaurant server, and now research assistant)
Shadowing: over 100 hours with shadowing my current PI who doubles as an oncologist
Leadership: I tutored at Baylor for a year and have continued being a tutor for chemistry and biology. Prior to college, I have tutored 5th-10th grade in math and science for about 6 years now
Interesting things: I’ve been a drag racer since I was 8 years old

I am a reapplicant (submitted last year in September due to MCAT retake) I submitted my application this cycle on 5/6 with TMDSAS processing complete on 6/1 most secondaries completed around 6/5 (UTMB and UH completed around 6/15).

I’m going crazy over here wondering if I’ll get any interviews, since I heard anything so far :(

Members don't see this ad.

Apply AACOMAS

Reactions: 1 users
yes, would definitely think of applying to osteopathic schools as a backup.

If you are not in the underrepresented minority, may be tough again this year for MD interview, with MCAT 506.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)