5+ Year Member
Aug 10, 2004
Status
-Cellular biochemistry
-Spanish conversation
-Elementary french
-Elementary german
-Elementary chinese

errr... it just looks funny to me, scary even. so far (im a sophomore) ive taken 85% science courses, and used up any extra time knocking out core curriculum requirements. so now im finished all that, for my cell major i need one bio class a semester, and otherwise i have absolute free reign. thats such a wierd feeling after having my first two years almost totally set out for me. anyway, my real passion (outside of biology obviously) is language. I have taken spanish for several years, and have an informal knowledge of french (i can understand a lot, speak some, but never learned grammar and such). so, naturally i'll be taking lots of languages. but for some reason it scares me and i need a second opinion before i register. i mean, id say being pentalingual is an obvious hook, and yes i do really plan on being near fluent in all of these, i have a very diverse group of friends and i plan on spending some time in the respective countries. anyway, thoughts?

Blue Scrub

The Gift & The Curse
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 16, 2005
Status
Hey, if you've taken most of your science classes, and hopefully did well in them....then by all means, do whatever is your passion if you have the freedom to do so....that would be awesome to be fluent in all those languages, and would you make you a unique candidate were you to apply to med schools.....I say go for it! Good luck! :thumbup:

beep

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 6, 2003
Visit site
Status
if i were you i would try to learn 4 languages more sequentially. maybe just pick, say, 2, and take a culture/history class to deepen the experience. as a practical matter, i think it'd be hard to keep all that straight, especially at a basic level. the closer you get to immersion, the easier languages are to learn, and 5 at once is far from it!

ishaninatte

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member