My Freshman Year Killed My GPA, What Would You do???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pahio

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I went to WFU my freshman year and had a lot of health/family problems and the grades went way down. I transferred out to NCSU and just graduated first in my department. I took the MCAT April 04 right after a traumatic accident and got a 6V 7P 9B L (english is my 2nd language). I applied to 4 schools and got interviewed at one, but got denied.

I studied a lot of physics and verbal for the April 05 and got a 7V 9P 9B R. Granted I was really nervous taking the real test, but I doubt I can improve much for this august mcat. I mean heck, I even tutor gen chem to orgo 2 in my school's tutorial center so I know I know the material.

I have outstanding experiences (in community outreach and leadership, community service, hospital/clinic volunteering, and working on submitting my research for publication with UNC School of pub health). Hence I've got excellent LOR.

GPA I have now:
Science: 3.29
Other: 3.36
Total: 3.32

GPA I would have had w/o freshman year:
Science: 3.79
Other: 3.47
Total: 3.66

As a NC resident I'm applying to a bunch of Osteopathic Schools (yes, I like their philosophy) and UNC, ECU, Penn State, UCONN, Case, Tulane, WVU, Temple, Jefferson, Drexel, MSU, and Suny. (I had been a resident of PA).

I am reallly in need of any suggestions as to what schools I should add/take off my list, and how I should let the schools know about my freshman year. Let me know if you need to know anything else.

Thanks in advance!

(PS: I will be working as a high school subtitute teacher, chemistry tutor in the tutorial center, and taking 4 public health courses this fall/spring)

Members don't see this ad.

Thanks! As for the SMP program, the earliest I can do that is for this upcoming Summer, and it would be a little late.