Surg Path

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 9, 2004
NYC
Status
Medical Student
MY BPCM GPA is 3.27, and AO is 3.75 Is this science GPA considered a non-starter? I took MCATs before, and managed a 28 (B11 V10 P7). Taking again in August (and studying lots of physics and chem).

If I raise the P on the MCATs to a 10 or better, should this cover the rather low science GPA for at least an interview at an Allo school? The alternative would be to do more coursework before applying.

The rest of my app is strong (research publications, LORs, ect).

What do you think? thanks

-asd

Schaden Freud

MiSanthrope II
10+ Year Member
Apr 23, 2006
Status
Medical Student
I have similar GPA numbers to you; 3.26 BCMP, 3.9 AO. I am just beginning the application process, and am definitely apprehensive about my science GPA. I am slightly comforted by a very strong MCAT score, however. Schools can't really argue lack of science ability when the MCAT is good.
You have a lot of pressure to prove yourself on the MCAT- if you could improve your PS to a 10, like you said- you will be in much better shape.

Surg Path said:
MY BPCM GPA is 3.27, and AO is 3.75 Is this science GPA considered a non-starter? I took MCATs before, and managed a 28 (B11 V10 P7). Taking again in August (and studying lots of physics and chem).

If I raise the P on the MCATs to a 10 or better, should this cover the rather low science GPA for at least an interview at an Allo school? The alternative would be to do more coursework before applying.

The rest of my app is strong (research publications, LORs, ect).

What do you think? thanks

-asd

About the Ads
OP
Surg Path

Surg Path

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 9, 2004
NYC
Status
Medical Student
Sartre79 said:

So you would suggest a year of postbac work, or something similar? If I managed straight A's in science for a year, it could go up to 3.4 to 3.5. But, that's all A's, and another year. Hmm

Looque

Bob Loblaw
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2006