My non-traditional plan!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sillyhumansuit

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I figured I would run my plan of action and see what everyone here think!

I am currently a MSW student at a top university, I graduated with my BSW from another decent state school in CA. I realized after doing social work for a while that it was not for me. My specialization is in health social work/medical social work. I am trying to figure out how to go about my post-bacc program and what ECs I should pick up along the way.

Right now the current plan is, join the peace corps right after I graduate for a whole variety of reasons. (mostly cause it sounds like I can make a real difference if only temporary in peoples lives) . I hope to get into a health outreach program. I have heard that peace corps is a fantastic EC on a resume. After that get into a post-bacc program and work from there.

The nitty gritty:

Cumulative GPA: 3.75, a couple science classes in there but not many
RACE: Mixed, My question here, does marking down 4 different races help my chances since I am a hodgepodge of underrepresented in health care.
ECs: All sorts of Social work internships, some in hospitals some not.

I am not worried about passing my post-bacc program but I am concerned about if the peace corps will help me with med school admission/post-bacc admission or if it is something that is not particularly useful. (I may do it either way)

To summarize:

1. Post Bacc programs, are they gonna hold my MSW against me?
2.Post bacc programs, are they going to hold peace corps against me?
3. I am guessing 27-28 is not to old to state a post bacc and 29/30 is not to old to start medical school.(I have read yes to this many times on this form but you saying yes will make me feel better)

Thanks for your feedback. I know everyone here is having their own struggles!

Members don't see this ad.