My nontrad story, advice requested!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PerfectSine

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a comp eng/comp sci undergrad/grad. I'm currently re-enrolled in a chem major at my old university to take care of the remaining bio and chem pre-req's (I have bio2 currently and then genetics this fall, biochem this spring). As I got to my junior and senior year of ugrad I felt like I didn't want to do comp eng anymore. I ended up meeting a professor who liked me enough to pay for my grad school in comp sci (an opportunity I couldn't pass up). But, as I was about to graduate from my MS and I was applying/interviewing for jobs, I knew that CE/CS wasn't what I wanted to do with my life. Being a physician is the only other thing I have ever wanted to do, but all my life I thought was going to be in computers so I never thought about it as an option. Now I am here, no one is my family has done medicine and I am lost in a sea of courses, advisors and voluteering.

Where do I go from here? My GPA's were 3.33 and 3.6. I'm hoping to enter the 2013 cycle. I just got off a shadowing experience with an internist at a local hospital and I loved it. Should I go for more shadowing?

I'm planning to have at least 3 LOR's. I have one already from the physician I shadowed and then at least 2 more from professors.

My ugrad gpa is low. I really didn't try hard in my ugrad and I worked full time for nearly all of it and my grades suffered, but now that I have a serious goal of med school. I'm really motivated and I have made A's since. How will that impact med school applications/interviews?

What does everyone recommend for MCAT studying? Are the professional courses worth the pricey fee?