My parents want me to be a doctor, but I don't!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ladynerd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone! I'm a freshman math major and I am very passionate about math. You might even say I'm in love with it. If I had it my way, I would pursue a PhD in math straight after graduation, become a mathematician, and do math all day. There's just one teeny, tiny, little problem... My parents want me to be a doctor! I can't blame them; after all, they are doctors, doctors make a TON of money, they're very well-respected, and the profession is secure. But while I do love science, I'm fascinated by the theory; I'm not particularly interested in the applications, including medicine (so as you can probably tell, I don't like labs). And at the end of the day, my heart is with the field of mathematics. Nothing compares to the feeling I get when I'm doing math. It's such a beautiful, challenging subject. Whereas I don't have a passion for medicine. I can't see myself spending four miserable years in med school, then suffering through three years of residency, and spending the rest of my life as a doctor. I don't know what med school would even accept a student with such little interest in the field. I've tried explaining this to my parents, but they won't change their minds. They said I could be whatever I want, but at the same time, they're pressuring me to be a doctor. I feel like I'm the bad guy here because my parents have spent so much money on my education and by not becoming a doctor, I would be an ungrateful, disobedient brat and disappoint them. But at the same time, I don't know how I would be able to live a happy life as a doctor or if I could even be one considering my lack of interest. And I would always regret not pursuing my passion and becoming a mathematician.

I've had this conflict for YEARS and I don't know what to do. Any sincere advice would be appreciated.