My story (former reapplicant who is graduating)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

successstory

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am writing this success story to give people struggling to get into medical school hope. I am a former re-applicant who is now graduating from medical school.

I took advantage of my "college experience" and my GPA showed it. I graduated with an abysmal sub-3.0 GPA. I applied that first time and was obviously shut down. I was lucky even to get an interview at one of my state schools, but that was clearly just a courtesy to an instate applicant. I was rejected a few days after the interview. I spoke with the dean to give me an idea of what I could improve (I'd recommend this)

By talking with the dean, I realized it was my GPA keeping me back so I decided to prove I could hack it in medical school. I entered a special masters program and worked my ass off. I did exceptionally well. The next application cycle, despite my exemplary performance in the SMP, I was waitlisted at one of my state MD schools. It looked grim initially but I was finally accepted early in the summer.

Now to all those people who think your GPA and MCAT say something about your abilities, I can tell you, you have a clean slate in medical school. Take advantage of it.

I was one of a handful of students who did not have a perfect academic record. By the end of medical school, half of those people with perfect MCATs and perfect GPAs ended up at the bottom half of the class. Despite my terrible undergraduate GPA, I did well. I hit the ground running in medical school and I quickly moved toward the top of the class.

In the end, despite starting out as one of the worst students in the class on paper, I ended as one of the best. Next year I will be going to Johns Hopkins which is best program in the country in my specialty of choice.