1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

My story...not sure of the best path

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by akbreezo, Sep 4, 2014.

1. akbreezo

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Hello all,
    Forgive me if this scenario (or something similar) has been played out before on the forum. I have not yet had a chance to thoroughly explore all of the posts yet. I am 36; I have a MSc in Fisheries and a PhD in Conservation Biology. I am currently non-tenure track research faculty but am looking at the end of my major source of funding for both my salary and field research. While I know that I can continue to grind along and piece together an existence in academia, I just don't feel that is how I want to spend the next 25 or 30 years of my life.
    Should I chose to switch directions from my current career, I know the medicine is what I'd like to pursue. I am looking for advice as to what the most practical, satisfying and rewarding path would be. I have a lot of a degrees, but lack specific medical experience. At present, I am considering RN, PA or MD. Each direction has appealing and not so appealing aspects. Specifically, with an RN position I am worried that I would be "bored." I hope that does not offend anyone because that is not my intension. I simply mean that I would worry that I would constantly want to be doing more. PA is probably the most appealing, but I have zero clinical experience so would need to determine how to get clinical hours before even beginning that education process. I think an MD is the least practical but who knows?!