MY Way to Study/Strategy/Raise your Score!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whitcoatsyndrom

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

Before I start, I just want to say that this is how I decided to study for the MCAT. This is by no means the best way for everyone, but I do feel like it will give most people some distinct advantages.

I am an average student with an average to low GPA from a top tier undergraduate university. I am a self-proclaimed terrible test taker. So, if you feel as though standardized tests are not your thing, this may work for you.

I just took my exam in Jan., 2011, during my senior year. I began by taking a Kaplan course the summer after my junior year. I'll hit this topic right now: the Kaplan classroom course is not necessary so long as you have the wherewithal to study on your own. The problem is that even if you are meeting every day of the week (and most programs do not) that is still not enough problem solving and studying. The classroom only covers larger topic or topics that students notoriously have trouble with. That's great, but for people like me to get a solid score, its not just the big picture we need, its every brushstroke. That being said, the classroom at least ensures as constant exposure to the material. Personally, I gained much more from the studying I did outside of the classroom, for at least 2 hours 6 days a week.

READ THE BOOKS: Take a run through all of the Kaplan books, even if you are not taking the class. Highlight and ensure that you have a general understanding of the topics.

DO THE PROBLEMS: After reading and highlighting, go back and do the problems at the end of each chapter. Doing the problems immediately after you read is indeed helpful, but it does not ensure that you can read it, move on, and then recall it from the memory as the MCAT requires us to do.