National Guard Committment in Residency

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by deringer, Nov 24, 2001.

1. deringer

deringer Junior Member

Hello,

I'm a second year medical student. I would like to become an orthopedic surgeon, but I am also considering radiology or EM.

My question concerns residency scheduling and my committment to the National Guard. My job in the National Guard is unrelated to medicine and I have to be on duty around 4 to 5 days per month and 2 consecutive weeks per year. 2 of those monthly days are fixed on a specific weekend. The other 2-3 days are highly flexible, but must be on weekdays. Also, I'm required to have at least 8 hours sleep before the start of my duty day (which means I can't do call and then start guard duty in the morning). An employer is required by law to give me these days off, but I'm wondering what the repercussions will be once I get into residency? Would most residencies be willing to schedule me around these days? Or will they (and my fellow residents) be put out and extremely pissed?

THANKS!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. shepherd

shepherd Member

hi,

as someone who has considered the guard I was just wondering is this difficult to do while in medschool.

4. deringer

deringer Junior Member

It's not too hard at my medical school for the first two years, as these years are purely pass/fail. The third year is another story, and I'm considering postponing my duties for that year. However, I can't postpone them for my entire residency, so that's why I posted.

5. shepherd

shepherd Member

hi,